Discover Japan

Find your favorite destination

Located in the Pacific Ocean, Japan is an island which consists of 47 prefectures. It is divided into the 4 main islands of Honshu, Hokkaido to the north, Shikoku to the west and Kyushu to the south. Honshu consists of the following sub-regions: Tohoku, Kanto, Chubu, Kansai and Chugoku. The island of Okinawa is located to the far south.

Japan's capital of Tokyo is located on the main island of Honshu, in the Kanto region.

Each prefecture is known for its unique culture, things to do, regional dishes and local festivals.

Japan's UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Hokkaido region

Hokkaido as Japan’s second largest island to the far north, has much wilderness to be explored.

Shikoku region

The smallest and least populated of Japan’s four main islands, Shikoku is renowned for its 88-temple Buddhist pilgrimage route, Matsuyama Castle, a fortress castle that is one of the few surviving original castles in Japan, Dogo Onsen and its pristine nature.

Okinawa region

The image of a beach paradise, Okinawa is renowned for its clear blue warm waters and white sandy beaches perfect for sunbathing, snorkeling and diving amidst colorful reefs and schools of fish.